Director General's Message

Vision    

TOWARDS A SAFER CYBER CULTURE”

H.E. HAMAD OBAID AL MANSOORI

DIRECTOR GENERAL

“The UAE Telecommunications Regulatory Authority (TRA) was established with the mandate of regulating the telecommunications and information sector in the UAE. It is responsible for ensuring an optimized world class IT environment in the country. The role of the TRA is manifested in supporting the ICT sector in the UAE, maintaining competition, protecting the interests of participants, promoting the level of readiness for electronic transition, encouraging investments, enhancing innovation, development and education, as well as undertaking social responsibility through best global practices in managing, monitoring and supervising the sector. All these goals aim at accomplishing one of the most strategic principle objectives of the TRA in creating and providing a safer cyber environment to all users in the UAE.

In accordance with the aforementioned goals and strategies, the TRA launched several initiatives aiming at achieving its objectives, of which the Computer Emergency Response Team (aeCERT) is one of the most important and prominent. The aeCERT was established by Resolution no. 5/89 of 2008 issued by the Ministerial Council for Services. The team was established to improve the standards and practices of information security, and protect the IT infrastructure in the UAE from risks and violations, in conformity with the TRA strategy that aims at supporting and ensuring a safer cyber space for the residents of the UAE, both nationals and expatriates.

The aeCERT was established under the slogan: “Towards a safer cyber culture”. The importance of the team lies in the vital role it plays in spreading awareness among Internet users, both individuals and organizations, on various issues related to the security of cyber space. In addition, the educational role played by aeCERT is part of the national campaign for cyber security awareness, which is a principle component of the long term success of cyber awareness in the UAE and the region. This role will help in utilizing the innumerable benefits of the IT sector, while protecting internet users, both individuals and organizations, thus ensuring a promising future for the UAE in the ICT sector.

Cyber security awareness and education are two main elements in the country’s strategy and long-term vision of developing a safer ICT community, enabling individuals to use different technologies related to information and telecommunications, and at the same time monitoring and supervising major cyber safety issues that face businesses, individuals, students and all other categories which are inherently linked with the ICT.”

كلمة المدير العام

Vision    

نحو ثقافة إلكترونية آمنة

سعادة حمد عبيد المنصوري

مدير عام الهيئة العامة لتنظيم قطاع الاتصالات

"تعتبر هيئة تنظيم الاتصالات في دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة الجهة المسؤولة عن قطاع الاتصالات في الدولة، وتم تأسيسها بهدف إيجاد بيئة مثلى لقطاع الاتصالات وتقنية المعلومات في دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة تصل إلى مصاف المراكز الرئيسية على مستوى العالم. وتتمثل رسالة الهيئة في دعم قطاع الاتصالات وتقنية المعلومات في دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة، والحفاظ على المنافسة، وحماية مصالح المشتركين، والارتقاء بمستوى جاهزية التحول الإلكتروني، والتشجيع على الاستثمار والابتكار والتطوير والتعليم، والالتزم بتنفيذ مسؤولياتنا اتجاه المجتمع من خلال تطبيق أفضل الممارسات العالمية في إدارة القطاع والإشراف عليه، حيث تعمل هذه الامور جميعها على تحقيق أحد أهم الأهداف الاستراتيجية الجوهرية للهيئة المتمثل في إيجاد بيئة إلكترونية آمنة لجميع المستخدمين في دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة.

وتماشياً مع هذه الأهداف والاستراتيجيات فقد أطلقت هيئة تنظيم الاتصالات مبادرات تهدف إلى تحقيق أهدافها، وكان من أبرزها فريق الاستجابة الوطني لطوارئ الحاسب الآلي (aeCERT)، والذي تم اعتماده بقرار المجلس الوزاري للخدمات رقم ( 5/89 ) لسنة 2008، كفريق وطني للاستجابة لطوارئ الحاسب الآلي في دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة. وتم إنشاء الفريق لتحسين معايير وممارسات أمن المعلومات وحماية البنى التحتية لتقنية المعلومات بدولة الإمارات من مخاطر واختراقات الإنترنت، بما يتوافق مع استراتيجية الهيئة التي تهدف إلى دعم فضاء إلكتروني آمن لدولة الإمارات وكل من مواطنيها ومقيميها.

ويأتي تأسيس هذا الفريق بما يتوافق مع الشعار الذي تم إطلاقه للفريق وهو "نحو ثقافة إلكترونية آمنة"، وتبرز أهميته في الدور الحيوي الذي يلعبه في نشر الوعي بين مستخدمي الإنترنت من أفراد وشركات حول مختلف الموضوعات المتعلقة بالأمن في الفضاء الإلكتروني. ويعد الدور التثقيفي الذي يلعبه الفريق كذلك جزءاً من الحملة الوطنية للتوعية الأمنية الإلكترونية التي تعد عنصراً هاماً من عناصر نجاح الوعي الإلكتروني على صعيد دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة وعلى الصعيد الإقليمي كذلك على المدى البعيد. وسيساعد هذا الدور في الاستفادة من المميزات التي لا تحصى في مجال تكنولوجيا المعلومات، بينما يقوم الفريق بحماية مستخدمي الإنترنت من أفراد وشركات، وبذلك يقوم بتحقيق المستقبل الواعد لدولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة في قطاع الاتصالات ونظم المعلومات.

وتشكل التوعية الأمنية الإلكترونية والتعليم عاملان رئيسيان في استراتيجية الدولة ورؤيتها بعيدة المدى بهدف تطوير مجتمع معلوماتي أكثر أمناً، وتمكين الأفراد من استخدام تقنيات المعلومات المختلفة، وفي ذات الوقت الاطلاع على المسائل الأمنية الإلكترونية الرئيسية التي تواجه الأعمال والأفراد والطلاب وكافة الفئات الأخرى التي ترتبط ارتباطاً وثيقاً بتكنولوجيا المعلومات والاتصالات".