About TRA | Vision, Mission & Values

Brief history

The Telecommunications Regulatory Authority (TRA) of the United Arab Emirates (UAE) was established according to the UAE Federal Law by Decree No. 3 of 2003 – Telecom Law, on regulating the telecommunications sector in the UAE. Since its establishment, the TRA has exceeded expectations by achieving its projected goals in record time.

The role of TRA focuses on two fields: regulating the telecommunications sector, and enabling government entities in the field of smart transformation.

Regulating the telecommunications sector in the UAE.

This vital role is derived from the UAE Telecommunication law and its Executive Regulation. The objectives of the TRA  in this context include: ensuring adequate provision of telecommunications services throughout the UAE; developing services in terms of quality and variety; ensuring quality of services by adherence to terms of licenses by licensees; encouraging ICT services in the UAE; promoting and enhancing the ICT sector within the UAE through training and development and the establishment of training institutions related to the sector; resolving disputes between the licensed operators; establishing and implementing a regulatory and policy framework; promoting new technologies; developing the country´s human capital; encouraging research and development to ensure that the UAE has a leading regional position the ICT sector. 

Enabling government entities in the field of smart transformation

Law No. 3 of 2011 referred the task of the federal e-government to the TRA. In May 2013, His Highness Sheikh Mohammed bin Rashid Al Maktoum, Vice President, UAE Prime Minister and Ruler of Dubai launched the mGovernment Initiative. The Supreme Committee was formed later, and it referred the implementation of the initiative to the TRA, funded by the ICT Fund.

Since then, the TRA's enabling role has been enhanced as it became responsible for the overall digital infrastructure in the country. This was embodied through the Federal Electronic Network (FedNet) and its connection with local networks in Abu Dhabi and Dubai. This role is also demonstrated in other projects such as managing the official portal of the UAE government, the establishment and development of the Government Service Bus (GSB), the Smart Pass, the monitoring and measurement of the mGovernment enablers and others. 

The TRA was entrusted with several responsibilities related to ICT Sector within the UAE and abroad. The TRA is responsible for representing the country in many international forums, as it was elected to the ITU Council of the United Nations for the years 2006-2010, as well as being a member of the Telecommunications Regulatory Authorities of the Arab Network (AREGNET), a member of the Arab Spectrum Management Group, and the GCC Technical Committee. Among the objectives that the TRA seeks to achieve when implementing its competencies according to the provisions of the law is to achieve the following:

  • Ensure the provision of telecommunications services throughout the country to meet the needs of those who wish to make use of such services
  • Develop the level of service provided by the telecommunications sector in order to achieve the interests of subscribers
  • Ensure that licensees adhere to quality standards of performance and to the terms and conditions stipulated in the licenses granted to them
  • Encourage, promote, and develop the ICT industry in the country
  • Develop and modernize the telecommunications system in the country through training, enabling and establishing related educational institutions, and obtaining the latest ICT devices, equipment, and facilities
  • Develop and ensure the implementation of the mGovernment initiatives’ programs, and enhancing the use of ICT in government entities.
  • Develop related policies and standards, and follow-up on government entities commitment to these standards
  • Prepare an attractive electronic governmental environment in the country
  • Formulate and implement a national mGovernment plan
  • Achieve the objectives of the mGovernment Services Index, one of the national agenda indicators emanating from the UAE Vision 2021
  • Assist government entities to develop their smart transformation programs
  • Enhance e-presence of the government in the UAE through the official portals
  • Promote e-participation in coordination with relevant government entities

 

 

Mission & Vision

Vision

The UAE is a global leading country in ICT

Mission

We strive to be a leading organization in the ICT sector in United Arab Emirates, committed to maintaining positive competition to protect the interests of the subscribers, and promoting electronic transformation of the federal agencies and their services, by relying on national competencies to apply the best international standards and practices in supervision of the sector´s and to encourage innovation and investment.

Corporate Values

  • Pioneering:We nurture innovation and creativity, assume leadership and effectively influence the support and development of the Sector
  • Customer happiness :We strive to improve our customers happiness through our commitment to the continuous improvement and development of the quality of our services
  • Empowerment:We endeavor to empower our employees in decision-making and participation in achieving our goals within inspiring work environment
  • Collaboration:Collaborating & Working constructively with the concerned people to develop and implement work mechanisms (internally and externally).
  • Commitment:We are committed towards our responsibilities to the State in providing the best technology for the Sector

Strategic Goals

  • Develop a fair regulatory environment for the ICT sector in the UAE, to enhance competitiveness and effective sustainability.
  • Develop the quality of provided ICT services in the UAE, to ensure keeping pace with technological development in the ICT sector.
  • Leadership in smart technological infrastructure in the UAE.
  • Enhance the smart lifestyle in the UAE
  • Ensure the provision of all administrative services in accordance with the standards of quality, efficiency and transparency
  • Establish a culture of innovation in the institutional work environment.

Sustainability as a work culture

Sustainability at TRA is a Part of our culture at work, as we restlessly work on creating such a positive impact on our community by providing sustainable work environment provoking innovation and creativity within TRA Departments, and launching many CSR related campaigns.

Given this, we would like to share with you the 2015 sustainability report highlighting the projects and the initiatives held By TRA over the past year.

To view Sustainability report Click here

عن الهيئة | الرؤية، والرسالة والقيم

نبذة تاريخية

تأسست الهيئة العامة لتنظيم قطاع الاتصالات في دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة وفقاً للمرسوم بقانون اتحادي رقم 3 لسنة 2003 (قانون الاتصالات)، في شأن تنظيم قطاع الاتصالات في الدولة. ومنذ تأسيسها، تخطت الهيئة التوقعات من خلال إنجاز الأهداف المرسومة لها في وقت قياسي.

يتمحور دور الهيئة في مجالين هما: تنظيم قطاع الاتصالات، وتمكين الجهات الحكومية في مجال التحول الذكي.

أولاً، تنظيم قطاع الاتصالات في دولة الإمارات

تستمد الهيئة هذا الدور المحوري من قانون قطاع الاتصالات ولائحته التنفيذية. وتتلخص أهداف الهيئة في هذا السياق بضمان تأمين خدمات الاتصالات في جميع أنحاء الدولة، وإنجاز تحسين الخدمات بما يتعلق بالنوعية والتنوع، وضمان نوعية الخدمات بما يتطابق مع شروط الرخصة من قبل المرخصين، وتشجيع خدمات الاتصالات وتقنية المعلومات في الدولة، والترويج لقطاع الاتصالات، وتطويره بالدولة من خلال التدريب والتنمية وتأسيس مؤسسات تدريبية ذات صلة بالقطاع، بالإضافة إلى إيجاد الحلول للخلافات التي قد تطرأ بين المشغلين المرخصين، وتأسيس وتطبيق إطار للسياسات والتنظيمات، والترويج للتكنولوجيا الحديثة، والمساهمة في تطوير الموارد البشرية في الدولة، وتشجيع البحوث والتطوير، بما يضمن لدولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة دوراً إقليمياً متقدماً في مجال الريادة في قطاع الاتصالات وتكنولوجيا المعلومات.

ثانياً، تمكين الجهات الحكومية في مجال التحول الذكي

قضى القانون رقم 3 لسنة 2011 بإحالة مهمة الحكومة الإلكترونية الاتحادية إلى الهيئة العامة لتنظيم قطاع الاتصالات. وفي مايو 2013 أطلق صاحب السمو الشيخ محمد بن راشد آل مكتوم نائب رئيس الدولة رئيس مجلس الوزراء حاكم دبي رعاه الله مبادرة الحكومة الذكية، وتم تشكيل اللجنة العليا التي أحالت مهمة تنفيذ المبادرة إلى الهيئة العامة لتنظيم قطاع الاتصالات بتمويل من صندوق الاتصالات ونظم المعلومات.

منذ ذلك الوقت تعزز الدور التمكيني للهيئة حيث باتت مسؤولة عن مجمل البنى التحتية الرقمية في الدولة، وتجسد ذلك من خلال الشبكة الإلكترونية الاتحادية (FedNet) وربطها بالشبكات المحلية في كل من إمارة أبوظبي وإمارة دبي. كما تجلى ذلك في مشاريع أخرى كإدارة البوابة الرسمية لحكومة الدولة، وإنشاء وتطوير الرابط الحكومي للخدمات (GSB)، والدخول الذكي (Smart Pass) ومشروع رصد وقياس ممكنات الحكومة الذكية وغيرها. 

عُهدت إلى الهيئة العديد من المسؤوليات المرتبطة بقطاع الاتصالات ونظم المعلومات داخل وخارج دولة الإمارات. كما أن الهيئة مسؤولة عن تمثيل الدولة في العديد من المحافل الدولية، حيث تم انتخابها لمقعد في مجلس الاتحاد الدولي للاتصالات التابع لمنظمة الأمم المتحدة للأعوام 2006-2010، وهي عضو في الشبكة العربية لهيئات تنظيم الاتصالات (آرنت) والمجموعة العربية لإدارة الطيف الترددي والمكتب الفني في مجلس التعاون لدول الخليج العربية. ومن الأهداف التي تسعى الهيئة لتحقيقها عند ممارسة الاختصاصات المقررة لها وفقاً لأحكام القانون إلى تحقيق ما يلي:

  • تأمين وصول خدمات الاتصالات لجميع أنحاء الدولة بما يكفل تلبية احتياجات الراغبين في الاستفادة من هذه الخدمات.
  • الارتقاء بمستوى الخدمة التي يقدمها قطاع الاتصالات بما يحقق مصالح المشتركين.
  • قيد المرخص لهم بمعايير الجودة في الأداء والالتزام بالشروط المحددة في التراخيص الممنوحة لهم.
  • تشجيع وتطوير وتنمية صناعة الاتصالات ونظم المعلومات في الدولة.
  • العمل على تطوير وتحديث نظام الاتصالات في الدولة عن طريق التدريب والتأهيل وإنشاء مؤسسات التعليم ذات العلاقة، والحصول على أحدث الأجهزة والمعدات والتسهيلات التي توصلت إليها تقنية الاتصالات.
  • تطوير وضمان تنفيذ برامج مبادرات الحكومة الإلكترونية وتعزيز استخدام تقنية المعلومات والاتصالات في الجهات الحكومية.
  • وضع السياسات والمعايير ذات العلاقة ومتابعة التزام الجهات الحكومية بتلك المعايير.
  • إعداد بيئة إلكترونية حكومية جاذبة في الدولة.
  • صياغة وتنفيذ خطة وطنية للحكومة الذكية
  • تحقيق مستهدفات مؤشر الخدمات الحكومية الذكية، أحد مؤشرات الأجندة الوطنية المنبثقة من رؤية الإمارات 2021
  • مساعدة الجهات الحكومية على تطوير برامجها للتحول الذكي
  • تعزيز الحضور الإلكتروني للحكومة في دولة الإمارات من خلال البوابات الرسمية
  • تعزيز المشاركة الإلكترونية بالتنسيق مع الجهات الحكومية ذات الصلة

 

 

  • الرؤيـــــــة    الرؤية والرسالة

    الرؤية

    الإمارات دولة رائدة عالمياً في تقنية المعلومات والاتصالات.

    الرسالة

    نسعى لنكون هيئة رائدة في رعاية قطاع الاتصالات وتقنية المعلومات في دولة الإمارات، ملتزمة بالمحافظة على المنافسة الإيجابية لحماية مصالح المشتركين، والارتقاء بالتحول الإلكتروني للجهات الاتحادية وخدماتها، من خلال الاعتماد على الكفاءات الوطنية لتطبيق أفضل المعايير والممارسات العالمية في الإشراف على القطاع وتشجيع الإبداع والاستثمار فيه .

  • القيم المؤسسية     القيم المؤسسية

    • الريادة: نتبنى روح الابتكار والإبداع وأخذ زمام القيادة والتأثير الفعال في دعم وتطوير القطاع
    • إسعاد المتعاملين: نركز دوماً على إسعاد متعاملينا من خلال التزامنا بالتحسين والتطوير المستمر لجودة خدماتنا
    • التمكين: نسعى لتمكين موظفينا في اتخاذ القرارات والمشاركة في تحقيق الأهداف ضمن بيئة عمل محفزة
    • التعاون والتفاعل: العمل مع المعنيين بشكل تشاركي وبنّاء لتطوير وتطبيق آليات العمل (داخلياً وخارجياً)
    • الالتزام: ملتزمون نحو مسؤولياتنا للدولة في توفير أفضل التقنيات للقطاع
  • الأهداف الاستراتيجية للهيئة     الأهداف الاستراتيجية للهيئة

    • تطوير بيئة تنظيمية عادلة لقطاع الاتصالات والمعلومات في الدولة لتعزيز التنافسية والاستدامة الفعالة
    • الارتقاء بجودة الخدمات المقدمة في قطاع الاتصالات والمعلومات في الدولة وبما يضمن مواكبة التطور التكنولوجي لقطاع الاتصالات
    • الريادة في البنية التحتية التقنية الذكية في دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة
    • تعزيز أسلوب الحياة الذكي في دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة
    • ضمان تقديم كافة الخدمات الادارية وفق معايير الجودة والكفاءة والشفافية
    • ترسيخ ثقافة الابتكــار في بيئة العمل المؤسسـي
  • القيم المؤسسية     الاستدامة ليست خياراً بل ثقافة

    الاستدامة في الهيئة هي جزء من ثقافة عملنا، حيث نسعى وبشكل دؤوب إلى إحداث تأثير إيجابي على المجتمع من خلال المحافظة على بيئة عمل مستدامة تحث على الابتكار والإبداع في جميع أقسام وإدارات الهيئة، وإطلاق مبادرات عدة من منطلق المسؤولية المجتمعية.

    وانطلاقاً من هذا التوجه، نقدم لكم تقرير الاستدامة للعام 2015 الذي يوضح المشاريع والمبادرات التي قامت بها الهيئة العام الماضي على هذا الصعيد.

    لعرض تقرير الاستدامة اضغط هنا