ICT Awards



The Telecommunications Regulatory Authority (TRA) has established this page, which highlights the local, regional and global awards related to the ICT sector in the belief that participation in such awards will contribute to creating an environment conducive to development and modernization through positive competition between government entities at the local, regional and global levels. It also provides advisory tools to match global standards and offers government authorities a free platforms to learn about successful ICT practices.


GCC eGovernment Award

The GCC eGovernment Award is presented to the government entities, within the GCC countries, which follow international best practices in utilizing ICT tools in order to provide services and information to the various categories of their stakeholders. The award is announced alongside the GCC eGovernment Conference and Exhibition, that is held every two years. The first conference was held in Oman in December 2009, whereas the second was hosted by Kuwait in November 2011, United Arab Emirates in 2013 and the Kingdom of Bahrain will welcomingly accommodate the fourth during this year (2015).

For more information about the award please visit the award website

or you can watch a TV Interview about the award here (the Interview in Arabic)


HH Sheikh Salim Al-Ali Al-Sabah Informatics Award

An annual award aimed at developing human capabilities in the field of information development, and consolidating the role of community institutions in information development

  • Developing IT skills and various innovations.
  • Preparing the youth to contribute to the development of IT Culture.
  • Developing and highlighting the Arabic digital content.
  • Raising the spirit of competition, excellence and innovation in the IT field.
  • Activating the role of IT Culture in society
  • Utilizing Information Technology to understand and foresee the important issues of society.
  • Raising the community awareness about safe IT practices.
  • Increasing the level of community readiness for digital processing.
  • Preserving the community cultural identity in the global IT system
  • Highlighting Kuwait culture through the internet.

For more information about the award please visit the award website


Alecso Apps Award

‘ALECSO Apps Award’ is an annual award dedicated to the best Arabic applications in the fields of education, culture, science and educational games. It is held within the framework of a wider project implemented by the Arab League Education, Cultural and Scientific Organization. The project aims to provide the necessary technological and institutional environment to contribute to the emergence of an Arab industry for the smart phones and tablets applications, by contributing to the development of a common Arab vision for the sector, the development of specialized Arab human resources, and facilitating the mobile applications productions and distribution.

For more information about the award please visit the award website


Best m-Government Service Award

The “Best m-Government Service Award” is an annual global award that stems directly from the Smart Government vision of His Highness Sheikh Mohammed bin Rashid Al Maktoum, Vice President, Prime Minister and Ruler of Dubai which aims to stimulate and encourage government entities to provide creative and innovative solutions via smart phone applications, mobile phones and SMS solutions. It will also ensure access to government services around the clock that are easy, efficient and transparent to meet the public needs and exceed their expectations. The "Best m-Government Service Award” is open for All governments globally

For more information about the award please visit the award website



WSIS Prizes is a unique international contest developed in response to requests from the WSIS stakeholders to create an effective mechanism to evaluate and recognize individuals, governments, civil society, local, regional and international agencies, research institutions and private-sector companies for outstanding success in implementing development oriented strategies that leverage the power of ICTs as an enabler of the development. The WSIS Prizes contest is an integral part of the WSIS stocktaking process; set up in 2004 to assist WSIS implementation and follow-up. The contest was held for the first time in 2012, and rapidly gained attention and popularity within the ICT for Development (ICT4D) community.

For more information about the award please visit the award website