Other ITU events

ITU Telecom World

ITU Telecom World is the global platform for governments, corporates and tech SMEs to accelerate ICT innovation for economic growth and social good, bringing together governments, corporates and tech SMEs to exhibit innovative solutions, network, share knowledge and debate with experts. It also includes the ITU Telecom World Awards.

Global Symposium for Regulators

The Global Symposium for Regulators (GSR) brings together heads of national telecom/ICT regulatory authorities from around the world and has earned a reputation as the global annual venue for regulators to share their views and experiences on the most pressing regulatory issues they have identified.

GSR also fosters a dynamic global industry regulators dialogue, between regulators, policy makers, industry leaders and other key ICT stakeholders. GSR’s Global Dialogue provides a platform for ITU-D Sector Members to share their views on major issues facing the ICT sector. GSR concludes with the adoption of a set of regulatory best practice guidelines.

ITU Council

The Council acts as the ITU’s governing body in the interval between Plenipotentiary Conferences. Its role is to consider broad telecommunication policy issues to ensure that the Union's activities, policies and strategies fully respond to today's dynamic, rapidly changing telecommunications environment.

ITU Council also prepares a report on the policy and strategic planning of the ITU and responsible for ensuring the smooth day-to-day running of the Union, coordinating work programmes, approving budgets and controlling finances and expenditure.

The Council also takes all steps to facilitate the implementation of the provisions of the ITU Constitution, the ITU Convention, the Administrative Regulations (International Telecommunications Regulations and Radio Regulations), and the decisions of Plenipotentiary Conferences and; where appropriate, the decisions of other conferences and meetings of the Union.

Plenipotentiary Conference

The Plenipotentiary Conference is the highest policy-making body of the ITU. Held every four years, it is the key event at which ITU Member States decide on the future role of the organization, thereby determining the organization’s ability to influence and affect the development of information and communication technologies (ICTs) worldwide. The Conference:

sets the Union’s general policies;

adopts four-year strategic and financial plans; and

elects the senior management team of the organization, the Member States of the Council, and the members of the Radio Regulations Board.

Broadband Commission

The purpose of the Commission is to define strategies for accelerating broadband rollout worldwide and examine applications that could improve the delivery of a huge range of social services, from healthcare to education, environmental management, safety and much more.

Read more about the Broadband Commission here:

www.broadbandcommission.org

ITU satellite Symposium

An event that gathers experts from the industry, satellite operators, regulators and space agencies to present and discuss latest technologies in satellite communications and space missions, national space plans, regulatory and market aspects of space services. 

The World Telecommunication/ICT Indicators Symposium (WTIS)

The objective of the Symposium is to debate new and emerging issues on ICT data and statistics and their role in policy making, to provide strategic guidance to the international community on information society trends and future monitoring. It also develops standards and methodologies for producing high-quality data and statistical indicators.

فعاليات أخرى ضمن الاتحاد الدولي للاتصالات

تليكوم العالمي للاتحاد

يعتبر تليكوم العالمي للاتحاد منصة عالمية للحكومات والشركات والمؤسسات الصغيرة والمتوسطة لتسريع ابتكار تكنولوجيا المعلومات والاتصالات بهدف تحقيق النمو الاقتصادي والاجتماعي. يجمع هذا الحدث الحكومات والشركات والمؤسسات الصغيرة والمتوسطة التقنية لعرض الحلول المبتكرة والتواصل وتبادل المعرفة والمناقشة مع الخبراء. كما يشمل جوائز تليكوم العالمي للاتحاد.

الندوة العالمية لمنظمي الاتصالات

تجمع الندوة العالمية لمنظمي الاتصالات (GSR) رؤساء الهيئات الوطنية لتنظيم الاتصالات/تكنولوجيا المعلومات والاتصالات من جميع أنحاء العالم وقد اكتسبت شهرة بوصفها الحدث السنوي العالمي الذي يجمع بين المنظمين لتبادل آرائهم وخبراتهم بشأن أكثر قضايا التنظيم إلحاحاً التي قاموا بتحديدها.

تعزز الندوة أيضاً الحوار بين منظمي القطاع، بين المشرّعين وواضعي السياسات والمسؤولين وأصحاب المصلحة الرئيسيين الآخرين ضمن قطاع تكنولوجيا المعلومات والاتصالات. توفر الندوة العالمية لمنظمي الاتصالات منصة لأعضاء قطاع تنمية الاتصالات لتبادل وجهات نظرهم بشأن القضايا الرئيسية التي تواجه قطاع تكنولوجيا المعلومات والاتصالات. تختتم الندوة باعتماد مجموعة من المبادئ التوجيهية التنظيمية لأفضل الممارسات.

مجلس الاتحاد الدولي للاتصالات

يعمل المجلس كهيئة إدارة للاتحاد في الفترة الفاصلة بين مؤتمرات المندوبين المفوضين. يتمثل دوره في النظر في قضايا سياسة الاتصالات العريضة لضمان استجابة أنشطة الاتحاد وسياساته واستراتيجياته بالكامل لبيئة الاتصالات الديناميكية سريعة التغير الحالية.

يعد مجلس الاتحاد الدولي للاتصالات أيضاً تقريراً عن السياسة والتخطيط الاستراتيجي للاتحاد ومسؤولاً عن ضمان حسن سير العمل اليومي للاتحاد، وتنسيق برامج العمل، واعتماد الميزانيات، ومراقبة الشؤون المالية والنفقات.

يتخذ المجلس أيضاً جميع الخطوات لتسهيل تنفيذ أحكام دستور الاتحاد واتفاقية الاتحاد واللوائح الإدارية (لوائح الاتصالات الدولية واللوائح الراديوية) وقرارات مؤتمرات المندوبين المفوضين وعند الاقتضاء، قرارات المؤتمرات والاجتماعات الأخرى للاتحاد.

مؤتمر المندوبين المفوضين 

مؤتمر المندوبين المفوضين هو الهيئة العليا لوضع السياسات في الاتحاد. ويمثل هذا المؤتمر الذي يعقد كل أربع سنوات، الحدث الرئيسي الذي تُقرِّر فيه الدول الأعضاء في الاتحاد دور المنظمة في المستقبل، وتحدد بذلك تأثير الاتحاد على تنمية تكنولوجيا المعلومات والاتصالات (ICT) وتوجيهها على الصعيد العالمي. إن المؤتمر:

  • يضع السياسات العامة للاتحاد؛
  • ويعتمد الخطط الاستراتيجية والمالية لفترة أربع سنوات؛
  • وينتخب فريق الإدارة العليا للمنظمة والدول الأعضاء في المجلس وأعضاء لجنة لوائح الراديو.

لجنة النطاق العريض

الغرض من اللجنة هو تحديد استراتيجيات لدفع عجلة نشر النطاق العريض في جميع أنحاء العالم ودراسة التطبيقات التي تساعد على تقديم مجموعة كبيرة من الخدمات الاجتماعية، من الرعاية الصحية والتعليم، وإدارة البيئة، والسلامة وغيرها.

اقرأ المزيد عن لجنة النطاق العريض هنا: www.broadbandcommission.org

ندوة الاتصالات الساتلية الدولية

حدث يجمع خبراء من القطاع ومشغلي السواتل والهيئات التنظيمية والوكالات الفضائية لتقديم ومناقشة أحدث التقنيات في مجال الاتصالات الساتلية والبعثات الفضائية والخطط الفضائية الوطنية والجوانب التنظيمية وسوق للخدمات الفضائية.

الندوة العالمية لمؤشرات الاتصالات/تكنولوجيا المعلومات والاتصالات (WTIS)

الهدف من الندوة مناقشة القضايا الجديدة والناشئة في مجال بيانات وإحصائيات تكنولوجيا المعلومات والاتصالات ودورها في وضع السياسة العامة، وتوفير التوجيه الاستراتيجي للمجتمعات الوطنية والمجتمع الدولي بشأن اتجاهات مجتمع المعلومات ورصدها في المستقبل، ووضع معايير ومنهجيات لإنتاج بيانات ومؤشرات إحصائية عالية الجودة.