TRA Efforts in the ITU

The UAE Government gives great importance to the ICT sector and uses it to serve the community and other sectors in the country, believing in its efficiency and influence in the development of individual and society with its government and private institutions.

The UAE has officially joined the ITU in 1972 after the establishment the union and the country. Moreover, the UAE has become a member in the ITU Council for the first time in 2006 during its participation in the 2006 Plenipotentiary Conference in Antalya, Turkey. Since then, the UAE has kept its membership in the ITU Council, providing its capabilities and expertise to support the ITU’s activities, programs, and events in its three sectors: Radiocommunicaition, Standardization and Development. Additionally, the UAE actively participates in the ITU’s various international forums.  

In Keeping with these plans and approaches, and as a recognition of the ITU’s objectives, and in support of its continued strong position as the lead agency in the ICT Sector, the UAE is actively involved in the activities and events of the organization as well as hosting its major events and conferences. It has also sponsored events such as the 150th anniversary of the foundation of the ITU, and the 60th anniversary of the ITU-T, and other strategic sponsorships such as the Forum of the ICT society. The UAE seeks to enhance regional and international cooperation and solidarity in ITU related activities. This has resulted awarding the UAE the WSIS Prize 2016 for Action Line 11 on regional and international cooperation, during WSIS 2016.

The UAE has been elected to the Radio Regulations Board (RRB) for the period 2015-2018. The Board consists of twelve members elected every four years at the Plenipotentiary Conference. The country has held several positions at the IUT’s conferences, meetings and work groups, and continues to hold other positions as either Chairman or Vice-Chair of several important committees.

Among the most important positions held by the UAE within the ITU:

  • Membership of the ITU Council, which consists of 48 member states out of 193 members, for four consecutive terms (2006-2010), (2010-2014), (2014-2018) and (2018-2022).
  • Membership of the Radio Regulations Board (RRB), which consists of 12 members on the International level. The UAE got 108 votes for the first time during the elections held in Busan, South Korea, 2014.
  • Chairing and hosting of the World Conference on International Telecommunications (WCIT) 2012, in Dubai
  •  Chairing and hosting the World Telecommunication Standardization Assembly (WTSA) 2012 in Dubai.
  • Chairing and hosting the World Telecommunication Development Conference (WTDC) 2014 in Dubai.
  • Hosting the 20th Edition of the Plenipotentiary Conference 2018 (Under preparation)
  • Hosting the ITU Telecom World 2012 in Dubai
  • Chairing and hosting the Global Symposium for regulators 2007 in Dubai
  • Chairing the World Radiocommunication Conference 2012 in Geneva
  • Chairing SG20: Internet of Things for (2015-2016) and (2016-2020)
  • Chairing the ITU Council Work Group responsible for the transition from IPv4 to IPv6 in 2009
  • Chairing the ITU Council Work Group responsible for definitions of telecom terminology.
  • Chairing the ITU Council Committee responsible for the organization of the 150th anniversary of the ITU establishment (2013-2015)
  • Chairing the Arab Spectrum Group in charge of the preparation of the Radiocommunication conferences (2010-to present)
  • Chairing the Arab and GCC team in charge of the preparation for the WTDC 2017
  • Chairing the Arab Team in charge for the preparation for the 2014 Plenipotentiary Conference
  • Chairing the Arab team in charge for the preparation for the 2010 Plenipotentiary Conference
  • Vice-chairing the Arab Group in charge of the preparation for the World Telecommunication Standardization Assembly (WTSA) 2016
  • Vice-chairing the radicommunication special committee on regulatory/Procedural matters
  • Vice-chairing the Study Group 4 of the ITU-R on satellite Services
  • Vice-Chairing the Study Group 7 of the ITU-R on Science Services
  • Vice-Chairing the Study Group 3 of the ITU-R on Radiowave propagation
  • Vice-Chairing the Study Group 6 of the ITU-R on Broadcasting Service
  • Vice-Chairing the Study Group 1 of the ITU-D
  • Vice-Chairman of the Telecommunication Development Advisory Group
  • Rapporteur of a chapter of the CPM Report (2007-2012) and (2012-2015)
  • Chairing the World Summit on the Information Society (WSIS) 2018 in Geneva
  • Chairing the Arab team in charge for the preparation for the 2018 Plenipotentiary Conference
  • Vice-Chairing the Study Group 2 of the ITU-D

The UAE has submitted several working papers in various work groups and study groups within the three ITU sectors. These papers are agreed upon by all stakeholders, national and international partners, as the TRA is keen to achieve the common objectives as well as consensus of visions during the meetings and international conferences.

In continuation of these efforts, and based on the UAE vision 2021 and its efforts to enhance the leading position of the country in international forums, the UAE has submitted its membership nomination for the ITU Council for the next term and has been successfully re-elected during the last Plenipotentiary Conference from 29 October – 16 November 2018 which was held in Dubai, UAE. The UAE is committed to enhance its contribution in the work, objectives and aspirations of the ITU for the coming term, and looking forward to work with all the ITU members to achieve sustainable development goals, common objectives and accomplishments

جهـود دولة الإمـارات العربيـة الـمُتحـدة في الاتحاد الدولي للاتصالات

تولي حكومة دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة اهتماماً كبيرا بقطاع الاتصالات وتقنيـة المعلومات؛ ذلك من أجل تسخيره لخدمـة المجتمــع والقطاعــات الأخــرى في الـدولـة إيماناً بأهميــتـه الفعّــالـة في تطـويــر الفـرد والـمجتمـع بمـؤسسـاتـه والحكـوميـة والـخـاصــة.

انضمت دولـة الإمــارات العربية المتحدة كعضــو رسمي في منظمة الاتحاد الـدولــي للاتصـالات عـــام 1972م بعد قيام الاتحاد وتأسيس الدولة. أصبحت دولة الإمارات عـضـواً في مجلس المنظمة لأول مرة عــام 2006م أثناء مشاركة الدولة في مؤتمر المندوبين المفوضين لعام 2006 في مدينة أنطاليا بتركيا.  ومنـذُ ذلك الحيـن، بقيت دولة الإمارات عضواً في مجلس هذه المنظمة تُسخًر إمكـانيـاتِـهــا وخبـراتِـهـا البشريــة لـدعــم أنشطة الاتحاد وبرامجه وفعالياته بقطاعاته الثلاثة (الراديو والتقييس والتنمية)، والمشاركة الفعّالة فيها.

استمـراراً لهـذه الخطط والنهج، وعرفاناً مــن الـدولـــة بـأهـداف الاتـحـــاد الدولي للاتصالات، ودعـمـاً لاسـتمـراره كوكالة الرائـدة في قطاع الاتصـالات وتقنـيـة الـمـعلـومــات؛ تشارك الإمارات بقوة في أعمال وأنشطة المنظمة بقطاعاتها الثلاثة وقد احتضنت جميع فعالياتها ومؤتمراتها الكبيرة. كما قامت برعاية مناسبات عديدة مثل الاحتفالية بمرور 150 عام على تأسيس الاتحاد واحتفالية مرور 60 عام على تأسيس مكتب قطاع تقييس الاتصالات وغيرها من الرعايات الاستراتيجية كمحفل مجتمع المعلومات والاتصالات. وتسعــى الدولة لـتعـزيز التـعـاون والتـضـامُــن الإقـليـمـي والـدولي في الأعمال المتصلة بالمنظمة. توج ذلك بحصول الدولة ونيلها لجائزة الاتحاد الدولي للاتصالات والأمم المتحدة عن خط العمل (ACTION LINE 11) والمتعلق بالتعاون الإقليمي والدولي وذلك في القمة المعلوماتية لمجتمع المعلومات في 2016.

انتخبت الـدولـــة عضواً في مجلس لوائح الراديو المنتخب للفترة (2015-2018) وهو يتألف من اثني عشر شخصاً يتم انتخابهم كل أربع سنوات في مؤتمر المندوبين المفوضين.  كما تقلدت الدولة منـاصـب عدة في مؤتمـراتـه واجتمـاعـاته وفـرق عمـلـه، ومـا زالــت تشغل مـنـاصِــب أخـــرى إمــا بوصفهــا رئيســاً أو نـائـبـاً للـرئيــس في الـعـديد من اللجــان الـمهمــة في الاتـحـــاد.

مــن أبرز المنـاصِــب التي تولتهـا دولـــة الإمارات العربية المتحدة في الاتحاد الدولي للاتصالات:

  • عضوية مجلس منظمة الاتحاد الدولي للاتصالات المؤلف من 48 دولة عضو فقط من أصل 193 عضوا لأربع ولايات على التوالي (2006-2010) و (2010-2014) و (2014-2018) و (2018-2022) 
  • عضوية مجلس لوائح الراديو المؤلف من 12 عضوا على مستوى العالم وحصول الدولة لأول مرة على عدد 108 أصوات في الانتخابات التي أقيمت بمدينة بوسان بكوريا الجنوبية لعام 2014
  • رئاسة واستضافة المؤتمر العالمي للاتصالات الدولية لعام 2012 بدبي
  • رئاسة واستضافة الجمعية العالمية لتقييس الاتصالات لعام 2012 بدبي
  • رئاسة واستضافة المؤتمر العالمي لتنمية الاتصالات لعام 2014 بدبي
  • استضافة أعمال النسخة العشرون لمؤتمر المندوبين المفوضين لعام 2018 (قيد التحضير والإعداد)
  • استضافة المعرض العالمي للاتصالات (تيليكوم الاتحاد) لعام 2012 بدبي
  • استضافة وترأس المنتدى العالمي لهيئات تنظيم الاتصالات لعام 2007 بدبي
  • ترأس المؤتمر العالمي للاتصالات الراديوية لعام 2012 بجنيف
  • ترأس اللجنة الدراسية 20 المعنية بإنترنت الأشياء للفترة (2015-2016) و (2016-2020)
  • ترأس فريق عمل مجلس الاتحاد الدولي للاتصالات المسؤول عن الانتقال من النسخة الرابعة إلى النسخة السادسة من بروتوكول الانترنت 2009
  • ترأس فريق عمل مجلس الاتحاد الدولي للاتصالات المسؤول عن تعاريف الاتصالات (terminology)
  • ترأس لجنة مجلس الاتحاد الدولي للاتصالات المسؤولة عن تنظيم الاحتفالية العالمية لمرور 150 عام على تأسيس منظمة الاتحاد الدولي للاتصالات (2013-2015)
  • رئاسة الفريق العربي للطيف الترددي المكلف بالتحضير لمؤتمرات الاتصالات الراديوية (2010-حتى الآن)
  • رئاسة الفريق العربي والخليجي المكلف بالتحضير لمؤتمر التنمية العالمي للاتصالات 2017
  • رئاسة الفريق العربي المكلف بالتحضير لمؤتمر المندوبين المفوضين لعام 2014
  • رئاسة الفريق العربي المكلف بالتحضير لمؤتمر المندوبين المفوضين لعام 2010
  • نائب رئيس الفريق العربي المكلف بالتحضير للجمعية العالمية لتقييس الاتصالات 2016
  • نائب رئيس اللجنة الخاصة بقطاع الراديو المعنية بالتدابير الإجرائية والتنظيمية الخاصة بالأقمار الصناعية
  • نائب رئيس اللجنة الدراسية الرابعة بقطاع الراديو المسؤولة عن الخدمات الساتلية
  • نائب رئيس اللجنة الدراسية السابعة بقطاع الراديو المعنية بخدمات الفضاء
  • نائب رئيس اللجنة الدراسية الثالثة بقطاع الراديو المعنية بالانتشار الموجي
  • نائب رئيس اللجنة الدراسية السادسة المسؤولة عن الخدمات الإذاعية
  • نائب رئيس اللجنة الدراسية الأولى بقطاع التنمية
  • نائب رئيس الفريق الاستشاري لقطاع تنمية الاتصالات
  • مقرر فصل من تقرير الاجتماع التحضيري للمؤتمر (2007-2012) و(2012-2015)
  • ترؤس مؤتمر القمة العالمي لمجتمع المعلومات (WSIS) 2018 في جنيف
  • ترؤس الفريق العربي المسؤول عن التحضير لمؤتمر المندوبين المفوضين لعام 2018
  • نائب رئيس اللجنة الدراسية الثانية التابعة لقطاع تنمية الاتصالات

 

وقد قدمــت الدولـة عدداً من أوراق العمل في فـرق العمــل المختلفـة ولجان الدراسة بقطـاعـات الاتحــاد الدولي للاتصالات الثلاثة. ويتم التوافق على هذه الأوراق مع جميـع أصحاب المصلحة والشركاء الوطنيين والدوليين حِرصاً من الهيئة على تحقيق الأهـداف الـمشتركـة وتوافق الآراء والمرئيات خلال الاجتمـاعـات واللقاءات الدولية وفي المؤتمرات.


واستمـراراً لهـذه الجهود وانطلاقاً من رؤية الإمارات 2021 وجهودها لتعزيز المكانة الرائدة للبلاد في المحافل الدولية ، تقدمت دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة بترشيحها لعضوية مجلس الاتحاد لفترة الولاية التالية وتمت إعادة انتخابها بنجاح خلال مؤتمر المندوبين المفوضين الأخير من 29 أكتوبر - 16 نوفمبر 2018 الذي عقد في دبي، الإمارات العربية المتحدة. إن الدولة مُلتزمـة بتكثيف مساهماتها في أعمال الاتحــاد وأهدافـه وطمـوحـاته للفترة القادمة، وتتطلع إلى العمــل جنبـاً إلى جنـب مع جميـع أعضــاء الاتحـــاد الدولي للاتصـالات تحقيقاً لأهداف التنمية المستدامة والأهداف المشتركة والنجاحات.